…and then some

Revelation


I’ve been having a real problem with other people… and what I mean by that, is that I have certain expectations of others in my life that aren’t being met. See, I look at the world a certain way, and I have a pretty good idea of “how things should be”, and that’s pretty set in my mind. I then compare the actions of those around me to those ideals, and areas that are amiss begin to affect me.

That’s a very general way of putting it. A specific example would be how I think friends should treat other friends. I’m pretty strict about how I think friends should treat each other. After talking with my girlfriend about some of these things, she tried to explain to me that people just aren’t they way I want them to be. So, I sometimes wonder if maybe I am the one with the problem.

I’d like to get more specific and give a few examples of what I’m talking about, but I’m just not feeling like getting into it, especially since I only know of one person who reads these anyway, and it doesn’t really pertain to her anyway.

3 responses

  1. glenda^^

    Each person is unique and you are too. And it’s because everyone is unique that you and the other people don’t have the same way to think about “how things should be” in this world. That’s obvious. By the way, it’s good to know that you are keenly aware of the world, and you have your own idea of it… which make you more sensitive about what happen around you.

    So, what is the problem with other people? They are different from you? Yes, they are. They are they and you are you. You can tell to other people what you think about how things should be… the ones will probably pay attention of what you said and will take care about it, the others will not. And what? People are free to do like they think is good for them. Let’s see your example about “how you think friends should treat each other”, you have your own point of view about it and I have mine (probably different from your). Whatever is your point of view about it, I will respect it, that’s all. And I don’t think “you are the one with the problem”. As I said previously, people are people and you are you; “Qui sibi amicus est, scito bunc amicum omnibus esse”, “Who is friend with oneself, is friend with everyone”. Accept yourself like you are, then you will able to accept others like they are despite their different points of view about things from you.

    August 25, 2008 at 12:03 am

  2. Anonymous

    I understand where your coming from, also, your not wrong for thinking the way you do. Maybe it would be an ideal world if everyone would share some of those same ideals, but unfortunately that’s not how the world works. But, that’s what makes it so great because there’s always something new going on, something you may not expect, the world is ever changing and variety is the spice of life. In your life, the only thing that matters is you- get past all the material objects, friends, family, pets… And you just have you in your life, so take care of that, find what makes YOU happy, so you can influence the others closest to you for the better. Maybe then you will have your own person “Eden”, and the ideal you are searching for. If not… Adapt, it’s another thing to define a human being, adaptation. Take care. =)

    August 25, 2008 at 11:30 am

  3. photo chick

    I’ll go back to my comment about people being “too busy” for you. Its difficult to find people who will actually be genuine and make time for others. We’re a selfish people. I get so irritated when I call someone, leave a message and then day go by and I’ve heard nothing.
    I constantly remind myself that people are going to make mistakes. They WILL let you down. You love them anyway. Its like Peter asking Jesus how many times you should forgive a person before giving up. Being like Jesus is the most difficult thing a HUMAN can do…we try so hard, but we fail miserably.

    August 25, 2008 at 6:49 pm

Leave a Reply

