…and then some

The Bowling Disaster (plus extras)


Ok so it wasn’t really a disaster, but I had a hard time having fun. There were 5 of us, and I did extremely poorly. Saying “it’s just a game” never makes me feel any better… because I’m not disappointed in the results of the game. I’m disappointed in my PERFORMANCE in the game. People never seem to understand that. Yes, I understand that a game is not an important thing in life, but often when I play, I’m evaluating my own performance and ability to play that game, and when I fail miserably, it’s not “just a game”, it’s something that I’ve failed to perform well in.

There are things I’m just not good at, and when I try those things, and I don’t do well, then it doesn’t bother me. I expect such. But when I try something that I’ve normally done VERY well with in the past, and end up doing completely horrible, it really irritates me. I think to myself, “why can’t I do this like I used to?”. I’ve got many examples of such experiences, but I won’t go into each one.

I will mention one. Worms 2. I used to play Worms 2 online every day… several games a day even. I was in a number of different clans and was one of the better players. Everybody knew who I was and was one of the higher-ranked regulars. Then, one day, it all went downhill. For some reason, my game went sour. I stopped winning so much and started losing more. I thought maybe I just needed a break, so I stopped playing for probably a few months. Then I came back, y’know, to make my “great comeback”. What a joke. I was no better… if anything, I was worse. Any time I’ve ever played since then has gotten me nowhere. You might say, “it’s just a game”, and you’d be totally correct. However, the problem I have with this is that it is something that I became good at, and then lost the touch.

Why is it this happens? You’d think that the more you stayed with something and kept practicing, the better you’d become. Or, at least, you would perhaps “peak” at your skill and remain there… but for your abilities and proficiency to actually decrease is dis-heartening. Does this kind of thing happen to a lot of people? It’s a bit scary sometimes, to think that I might pursue something that I am good at, put a lot of time and energy into making it a career, and then hitting that downhill curve. It’s an unsettling thought.

Back to the bowling thing. I was really discouraged, and my wonderful friends tried to make me feel better but I just wasn’t having it. On the way home, though, I subjected them to my video game music and they really got into it and the drive back was fun. I’m proud of my vgm collection ;)

One response

  1. glenda^^

    Before I played Heroes IV and I was a really good player^^ But I didn’t played it for a few months cause of my study… and my games was really awful! Lost all my soldiers and castles… total devastation…. I was too disappointed…

    Last week, I played with my lil sister, 11 years, Mario Bros! A funny game… But I played so badly… Quite scary… all my performance on a game is suddenly decreased… Maybe I’m not longer on the”video game mood”…

    Well att least my skills at art are still increased year after year^^ and I’m really proud of it^^ and I succeeded to teach it to my boyfriend^^ I’m proud of him! That makes me feel more better^^

    August 26, 2008 at 11:26 am

Leave a Reply

