…and then some

Transferring Email from Hotmail to Gmail


No. I didn’t try to make that rhyme on purpose.

Well, now that I’ve switched to Gmail, there really is only one thing left to do: Transfer all of my existing mail in Hotmail over to Gmail. Don’t even think for a split second that Hotmail provides an easy way to do this. Not a chance.

Fortunately, there is still a way, and though it’s a bit of a hassle, it’s a lot easier than the alternative, and I won’t even go there.

Since I have Microsoft Office, I can use MS Outlook to connect to my hotmail account through its proprietary http mail server. I can then download all of my messages to local MS Outlook folders.

Now, since I haven’t tried this yet, I’m not sure what the next step is exactly, but I read that you can set up Gmail to connect to MS Outlook, and by doing this, I could then transfer all downloaded Hotmail up to my Gmail account. This would be phenomenal if it works the way I anticipate it should. I’ve used MS Outlook quite a bit. In fact, I use it every day at work. However I have also used it at home and have some experience using it to download email.

If I didn’t have Microsoft Office already, then i’d have to figure something else out. I think you can use Windows’ built in version called Outlook Express (and yes, it is different, though similar), but requires a few extra steps to update and install addons or whatnot in order for it to support connection to Hotmail. Yes you read it right. Updates and addons.

Leave a Reply

