…and then some

Sick and Twisted


Being sick is never any fun… well that’s not true. There have been times when I’ve been just sick enough to call a day off of work but then I would be able to relax and play throughout the day, as long as I took it somewhat easy. However, being truly sick is really not fun. Being bronchitis-sick is even more not fun.

So there’s this gang called the Boys and Girls Club. Ok so it’s not really a “gang”. It’s just an after-school program for kiddos. Well, this year they’ve been given permission to use my computer lab. Of course, I’m not here when they do. I’m totally ok with this except for the fact that they freakin’ destroy everything. Every day I come to work, I find that things have been moved, changed, or are missing altogether. They write on my whiteboard. They leave the computers a mess (chairs not pushed in, headphones all over the place). They turn off the screens and the computers when they are supposed to be left on. They move stuff on my desk, and even go through my drawers. I know this because I have one drawer that’s broken and I can tell if someone doesn’t close it properly. This morning I noticed that the rest of my tissues were gone. The whole box was gone. Fortunately I have another box, but if they’re going to do that they should replace it. Last week when I missed Thursday, Friday, then Monday because I got sick, when I returned I found that someone got into the bag of gummi bears on my desk. That’s just downright blasphemy. It’s stealing, too. I know someone did because they were almost all gone and they were either stupid enough or rude enough (or both) to leave the bag open (it was a zip loc). So not only were they taking my gummi bears, but they left the bag open so the rest could get dried out.

I’m starting to get really sick and tired of the lack of courtesy and respect around here.

OH YEAH! And this morning, I walk into my lab and it’s FREEZING!!! I couldn’t believe it! I took a look at the thermostat and someone (yesterday) was in here and lowered the temp to 58°! Now, the thermostat is supposed to be locked anyway, but maintenance sets it around 74-77 and that’s too warm for me usually, so I found a way to unlock it and I generally set it around 70. I usually have to adjust a few degrees up or down throughout the day, so it’s tedious for me to have to re-lock it each time… and I’ve never had a problem with anyone messing with it in the past… but this? Leaving it as low as 58° over night? Not only is it stupid and expensive, but it’s just… stupid. Yeah I know I said that. What probably happened is that they came in and found it to be very warm (since I’ve been sick I’ve kept the temp up a little) so they probably just dropped the setting on the thermostat just to cool it off. Problem is, THEY DIDN’T PUT IT BACK THE WAY IT WAS!!

That’s the biggest problem I’m having here. When they come in, I don’t want to know they’ve been here. Unless they want to leave a little note that says “Thank you for letting us use your computer lab”, then it’s best if I just don’t know anyone has been in my room. What’s the big deal, anyway? Before you leave, just make sure everything is back to how it was when you came in. See, they don’t care because they don’t have to clean it up.

*thinks*

I have a webcam at home. I’m going to install it here and monitor what goes on while I’m gone. This is pissing me off too much. I should have brought it today. Maybe I’ll go home for lunch and get it so that I can set it up before school’s out. Maybe I’ll just wait until Monday. I’ve decided, though, that’s what I’m going to do. I’ll have to put it in a place that allows me to monitor my desk area and my side of the room.

I’ll figure something out. I’m just fed up with this crap.

 

Posted by email from vertigoelectric’s posterous

One response

  1. Ramon

    That’s a good idea.

    Just hide it well so they don’t see it…

    September 26, 2008 at 2:02 pm

Leave a Reply

