…and then some

The Gift


Last night I was on the computer, as I usually am, looking up some videos on YouTube. I decided I wanted to learn a faster way to solve the Rubik’s Cube, so I found some videos that explain the Fridrich method, though I never really understood anything I was watching… but that’s mostly because I had a bit of a distraction.

While watching the videos, I got an email. It said I had a message waiting for me on OkCupid. This is rare, so I checked it out. It was from a girl who apparently saw my profile and told me I seem like a nice guy and invited me to email her back… I took a quick glance and the first thing I noticed is that she lives in Banning. This is good. I then noticed that our matching percentages were EXTREMELY good. So I thought, “hey this is cool”. I went to her profile and the phrase that caught my eye was “i am a christian”…

Now, before I go any further let me explain something here. This is BANNING. Finding a girl on OkCupid that lives in Banning is just is a longshot, if anything. Second, not only does this girl live in town, but based on the website’s matching algorithms, we match extremely well. Most importantly, SHE’S A CHRISTIAN?!?! What happened? Did hell finally freeze over?

Ok, so, blah blah blah and we finally got to chat on Yahoo messenger. At this point, as truly captivating as the rubik’s cube videos may have been, they no longer had my attention. This girl was throwin’ me for a loop bigtime. We have a LOT in common, and most importantly, we have Jesus in common. We chatted online for a bit, then we talked on the phone for over 3 hours. The more we talked, the more I knew she was a gift from God.

So here I am the next morning, sitting at work, excited as a little kid on Christmas Eve. We have a date tonight. Just a casual meeting at Starbucks. Then Saturday we might go out for a nice dinner… a more formal date. On Sunday, we’re going to church together.

She’s just what I’ve been looking for. Thank you, Jesus. Thank you so much! :)

One response

  1. nice. have some coffee whilst you’re there.

    October 9, 2008 at 8:51 am

Leave a Reply

