…and then some

Stupid Thermostat


I know I meantioned it before, but I swear the thermostat in my lab is retarded.

I want it at 70°.  If I set it to 70°, the cooler comes on until it hits 71°, then it stops.  To adjust for this, I put it at 69°, figuring it would stop at 70°, but no…. it goes all the way down to 69° before it shuts off.  I know it’s only 1 degree difference, but sometimes it’s just a bit too cool at 69° and a bit too warm at 71°, so 70° would be perfect.

So it gets to 69°, and it’s a bit too cool, so I turn it back up to 70°.  Guess what happens.  Yup, that’s right.  It doesn’t turn back on until it’s 72°, and then shuts back off when it’s back to 71°.

That’s just how this bloody thing works.  I hate it.  Sure, it’s a heck of a lot better than the non-existant system I had before this was put in last year, but c’mon… it should work, right?  It ought to do what it’s SUPPOSED to do.

**NOTE** Thanks to Ramon for pointing out my mistype.

One response

  1. Raamon

    “If I set it to 70°, the cooler comes on until it hits 70°, then it stops.”
    Isn’t that okay?

    Anyways, yay for you making another post!!! Go on a blog post spree!

    December 4, 2008 at 11:14 am

Leave a Reply

