…and then some

Black Mamba


hs_black_mambaLast week I finally got my hands on a bottle of BLACK MAMBA hot sauce.  It’s only a 2 ounce bottle but it really packs a punch.  I had a sandwich that day and I put a little bit on the sandwich but it didn’t seem quite as hot as I expected.  Maybe I didn’t shake it up enough, or maybe something in the sandwich really cut the heat.  I’m not sure.  I tried it again a couple of nights later.  Melted some butter in a bowl and put a few drops of this in.  I like to roll up warm flour tortillas and dip them.  It seemed a lot hotter that time.  Anyway, it has a pretty decent flavor, though I haven’t really gotten around to really putting it to the test.  I gotta put a drop or two directly on my tongue to really get a feel for it.  I haven’t done that yet.  Maybe I’ll do that tonight.  Also, for the record, I tried looking up the Scoville rating for this sauce, but the makers never really had it officially rated.  Based on what I’ve read and heard from others, this sauce could be anywhere between 1,000,000-4,000,000 scovies.  In case you don’t know anything about scoville units, and don’t know how hot a million scovies is, bear in mind that a Red Savina (hotter than the common orange ones) habanero pepper is probably around 500,000.

One response

  1. Lisa

    That sounds really good. I think I will look to try that sauce. If you are a lover of hot sauce as I am- then try this brand out. I was looking around and found the website http://www.thepoorchef.com. The guy has some different sauces and other cool products. The 2 sauces I bought were a mango peach hot sauce- to die for!!!! Also, he has a raspberry Jalapeno sauce which was great for marrinating chicken in before cooking.

    All my friends and I are addicted to this hot sauce now. Just thought I would pass the word on to fellow hot sauce lovers! Enjoy

    May 19, 2009 at 4:45 pm

Leave a Reply

