…and then some

Widget Powered by Flickr


I’ve done some poking around with the idea of having pictures in my sidebar, and it seems that I can easily use my phone to upload images to a flickr account and have them displayed on the sidebar of my blog.  I like this, so it looks like I’ll be posting my “Random Mobile Photos” to my sidebar using flickr.  This way I can post as many as I want as often as I want and it won’t clog my blog.

The only limitation that may present a problem is that a free flickr account only allows for 100mb of uploading per month… which limits me to about 8 photos a day… unless I take them at a lower resolution, which may be perfectly fine.  Currently my phone is set to take photos at 1600×1200 resolution, which can produce a file up to about 400kb if it’s got lots of details in it.  On the other hand, the first one I posted was only 85kb, which is much smaller.

I don’t think it’ll really be a problem.

In fact, so far the only “real” problem that I’m experiencing with this is that it’s not displaying all of the pictures.  So far, as I’m typing this, I only have two, but it’s only showing the first one.  It was showing both earlier, and before that, it wasn’t showing any.  I’m a little confused as to why it doesn’t show as it is supposed to.

EDIT:  Instead of using the RSS feed link that the wordpress.com support pages tell me to, I used a different RSS feed link from my flickr account and now it seems to be working fine.  We’ll see, I guess.

Leave a Reply

