…and then some

Healthy Grilled Teriyaki Chicken Stuff


While I was home today, I had lunch.  What a concept.

Anywho, I’m trying to lose weight so I figured I’d just cook up some chicken tenders and season them a bit and just eat them even if they aren’t the most tasty thing… but they were delicious.  Here’s what I did:

I took 3 frozen, boneless, skinless chicken tenders and I put them in a pot of water and boiled them until they were cooked.  My mother and sister usually put them on a plate and microwave them until they are cooked but that really dries them out, especially if you overcook, which is easy to do since the microwave doesn’t cook them evenly.  Boiling them in water not only helps cook them evenly, but even if you keep them in their longer than you need to, they won’t dry out.

Normally I put seasonings in the water… and maybe a bit of hot sauce, but I didn’t.  This time I decided to do that later.  After the chicken was cooked, which you can’t really tell just by looking at them but I’ve been doing it long enough to have a good idea of how long it takes, and it was only about 10 minutes or so, I got out a skillet and put it on the stove.  I sprayed some Pam cooking spray on the skillet, and it was the Olive Oil variety.  I let it heat up for a little bit then I used tongs to put the chicken on the skillet.

Once the chicken was on the skillet I sprinkled on some Cajun seasoning, onion powder, garlic pepper, Lawry’s seasoning salt, and some grated parmesan cheese.  I then sprayed over all of it with the Pam and flipped them over, and did the same to the other side.  I let them sizzle for a while before putting them on a plate.

When they were finished I took a bite and it was really good, but I wanted some kind of sauce to dip them in or spread over them.  I checked my fridge… ranch?  nah… I wanted something a bit healthier… I rummaged around until I found some Kikkoman teriyaki sauce.  It was in a different label than I’ve seen before… anyway, I put a little bit of that on it and it was absolutely delicious!!

This makes me happy, because it is hard to find something that’s both healthy and tasty.  I didn’t use anything unhealthy in the recipe at all.  No butter, no oils (well, there was the olive oil pam, but olive oil isn’t bad), and really nothing but spices.  The parmesan cheese has such a low calorie and fat content, and I use so very little, it shouldn’t even count, and the teriyaki sauce isn’t bad either.

Anyway… try it…

One response

  1. Hi, good post. I have been pondering this topic,so thanks for posting. I’ll definitely be coming back to your posts.

    April 30, 2009 at 7:05 pm

Leave a Reply

