…and then some

Online Chat Etiquette


For those of you who think it’s okay to be in the middle of a chat with someone and then walk away to go do something else without letting the person know you’re leaving, I have news for you.  IT’S NOT.

You think just because you’re not face-to-face with the person you are talking to that for some reason to ignore what they’re saying to suddenly go do something else.  Oh but you had a good excuse.  You had to eat dinner, or you had to go take a shower or do some housework…

Honestly, how much trouble would it be to say “hey, brb”.  Let the person know you’re going to be away for a bit so they don’t THINK that you are there paying attention.    Don’t just leave without saying anything.

I hate it when people do that to me.  We’ll be right in the middle of some conversation, and I’ll ask a question, and get no response… “hello?”.  Nothing.  Then maybe 30 minutes later they’ll come back and start talking like it’s only been 30 seconds.  By then I don’t know what they’re talking about because obviously I’ve closed the window almost half an hour ago… then they make me look like the jerk for closing the window..  “Why did you close the window?  I just had to have dinner with my family real quick”.

Ohhh, of course.  I forgot to switch on my mind-reading feature.  My bad.  DUHH of course you were having dinner.  How stupid of me not to know that.

In short, if you’re chatting with someone online, and you have to go away for a bit, TELL THE PERSON.  A simple “BRB” usually does the trick.

I understand sometimes things pull us away that we can’t control, and we don’t get a chance to tell anyone.  I understand that.  I’m talking about you inconsiderate folks who just walk away from a chat mid-conversation without warning.

*sigh*

2 responses

  1. Glenda ^_^

    I’m sorry for not being in front of my computer when you open a chat windows. I have excuse for it, I will put a “brb” on my status to let you know that I am not in front of my computer. I am sorry for the trouble and the late time. I keep a smile to you ^____^ Have a wonderful day!

    October 22, 2009 at 10:26 am

  2. Glenda, you are the sweetest person I’ve ever known. This blog post has nothing to do with you and you are always the most kind and courteous person I have ever spoken to online. You don’t need to worry about this.

    October 22, 2009 at 10:42 am

Leave a Reply

