…and then some

Facebook’s New 2010 Layout – Showing Status Updates as Default


If you’re like me and you hate Facebook’s News Feed and you just want to display the Status Updates page as your default home view like you could with the short-lived 2009 Facebook layout, well… you can’t.

…at least, not through Facebook itself.  However, if you don’t mind allowing your browser to lend a hand, then I have a “solution” for you.  It involves creating a shortcut on your browser’s “links” toolbar, or whatever it’s called.  All browsers are a little different.  I am using Firefox.

What I did was this:  When logged into Facebook, I navigated to the Status Updates page.  This can be done by clicking “Friends” on the left, and then clicking “Status Updates”.  Once you get to your Status Updates page, simply copy the URL in the address bar and save that as a shortcut.

The link should look like this:

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=app_2915120374

This same link also worked for my friend, so I don’t believe it is unique to the user.  However, Facebook might decide to change that app number, so if it stops working just follow the steps above and get the URL again.

Now that you have your shortcut on your browser, you will use THAT instead of clicking “Home” at the top right of Facebook.  Say you’re looking at a friend’s photos, and you want to return home.  Just click your shortcut.  You’ll go straight to your Status Updates feed.

I haven’t found anybody else who offers a solution to this yet, so I’m pretty excited that I was able to find something, even if it’s a bit of a stretch.  So… if you find this helpful, or want to add some info that would improve this, please leave a comment and let me know.  I’d love to know if this is helpful to people :)

Side note:  After chatting with some friends I began to realize that most people don’t even know if they have the new layout yet or not.  I guess that’s what happens when Facebook changes things so often… nobody can tell what’s what any more.   Probably the easiest way to tell if you have the new layout is by checking the location of your notifications.  The old 2009 layout put notifications at the bottom right.  The new 2010 layout has them in the TOP LEFT as a little “globe” icon.

8 responses

  1. Cool. That worked. It’s been driving me crazy!

    I thought it was good when they made it able to default there, because that’s a directly compete to Twitter.
    Taking it away means Twitter does something Facebook can’t.

    I have a feeling this feature will return, though. HOPEFULLY!

    February 8, 2010 at 11:00 am

  2. KJD

    This worked! And I copied your post and put it in a note on my page. Thank you!!!!

    February 9, 2010 at 1:25 pm

  3. Awesome! I am glad I can help! Unfortunately, this is only a minor workaround to a small problem while Facebook is facing all manner of issues.

    Anyway, thanks for sharing my post (though a link to this blog would have been cooler so I could better see how it is helping people by their comments :))

    I’m hoping that Facebook will start caring more about their users.

    Check out this help and support page on Facebook:

    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=app_2915120374#!/help/?community=784
    (copy whole URL if link doesn’t post properly)

    Look at all of the complaints! …and many of them are about the same things over and over and over.

    February 9, 2010 at 1:30 pm

  4. Sue

    Thank you, been searching the web for a fix to this problem and this seems to be the best answer!!

    February 15, 2010 at 1:38 pm

  5. Jane

    Great idea! Why on earth did they get rid of the option to default to status updates instead of newsfeed anyway? who gives a damn who’s on farmsville/had hugs etc. !! Wake up Zuckerberg and smell the coffee !!!

    March 3, 2010 at 7:01 am

  6. Thor Åberg

    There is a script that will do this for you on the new FB layout

    A chrome extension
    https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/niibjigimiaihbihflghjcbbkfgamooj

    A Greasemonkey userscript
    http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/106701

    July 12, 2011 at 9:20 pm

  7. I’m really loving the theme/design of your site. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems? A small number of my blog audience have complained about my blog not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any advice to help fix this issue?

    April 24, 2013 at 11:09 am

  8. Sorry for the late response, but what site are you talking about? If you’re referring to my WordPress blog, keep in mind that WordPress hosts this site so they deal with all those compatibilities. I am, however, a web developer and have run into many cross-browser compatibility issues… Unfortunately, there isn’t really any general advice I can give you since every case is quite different. If you have any specific issues you want help with you can contact me again about them. For what it’s worth, I’m quite anti-IE so if I’m designing a website that doesn’t quite work with Internet Explorer, I don’t care. I don’t people using it so I’m not going to cater to it.

    June 14, 2013 at 1:37 pm

Leave a Reply

