…and then some

Bagrada Saga Part I


I’ll start at the beginning.

When I got into geocaching, I was exploring an empty field near a brick wall, looking for the cache.  There was some debris, and I as I fumbled around in the debris and dead weeds, I looked down at my feet and noticed small bugs everywhere.  I’m not afraid of bugs but the number of them startled me and I jumped back and didn’t return to the area.  They were also all over the wall.  It was strange.

That was a while back.

A few days ago my friend sent me a photo via Droid and asked me if I’ve seen that bug before because there were lots of them.  It was the same bug.

Yesterday while I was building that skunk trap, Lisa decided to start tearing out some of the large, dead, dry weeds near the shed close to where I was working.  After messing with the weeds, we noticed literally hundreds of those bugs crawling all over the place… it was only a small area, too… maybe a few square feet.  I can’t imagine how many of these things are in the whole yard, plus the unoccupied property next to my back yard that’s full of the dead weeds.

They’re called Bagrada bugs.  They’re in the stinkbug family.  I don’t know a lot, but I know they’re damaging to plants and crops.  I also know that they were only recently discovered in this area.  Even less settling is the fact that the females can lay up to 100 eggs and the incubation time is only 3 to 4 days.  These things can spread like a plague.

As a side note, something has been eating my pepper plant leaves… that is, something small, like an insect.  I suspected these bugs, but the Bagrada suck sap out of plants very similar to the way a mosquito sucks blood from a person.  They leave tiny puncture wounds on the leaves on the plants… I’m not sure how to describe it, but it’s not the same as “eating” them like the way something is chomping away at my pepper plant leaves.

Leave a Reply

