…and then some

The Eyes!


For a while now… definitely months, though I’m not sure how many… I’ve had a strange issue with my left eye.  It’s hard to explain but I’ll try.

A long time ago I had discovered that if I plug my nose and close my mouth but try to apply air pressure from my lungs, some of the pressure would be released from behind my left eye.  That’s right.  Air would come out from behind my eye.  It was a very, very strange feeling.  I didn’t do it often.  I only did it on purpose maybe twice.

As strange as it was I shrugged it off… put it out of my mind.  However, now I’m having more issues.  After I have slept for a while, there is usually much more fluid produced by my left eye (some people call it “eye boogers” or simply “sleep in your eye”) than normal.  Sometimes it bothers me for hours.  I remember one day in particular in which my eyelid was swollen almost all day and was sensitive to the touch and hurt.  That only happened once.  However, the irritation is nearly every time I wake up.

It hasn’t happened in a while, but I remember months ago when I tried blowing my nose and I swear some of the mucus came out from behind my eye.  Just a tiny bit.  Sounds gross, right?  Yeah well it’s a lot more weird than it is gross.  It could have just been air and the fluid was already there but I don’t remember, honestly.  The point is, I’m not sure what the problem is.

Now, my eye itself is fine.  No problems with vision or anything like that.  It’s just this odd connection between what I believe to be my sinuses and my “eye cavity.”  It’s as if they are connected.  Is that normal?  I haven’t looked it up yet.  I suppose I could try to start taking some kind of allergy medication to see if it helps.

Anyway, speaking of eyes, I’ve actually had trouble keeping mine open for the past few hours so I’m going to go to bed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

