…and then some

Rude Awakenings


Ah, I shall describe my morning thus far.

So far, I’ve spent a great deal of time lying in bed trying to continue my sleep.  However, when you’re wheezing and gasping for air, sleep doesn’t like to show itself.  Eventually, as the sun was starting to come out for the day, I decided to just get up.

I forgot to mention that I had also woken up much earlier and found that my phone was back to normal after the transfer finished.  So that’s good.  I went back to bed at that point, though.

Anyway, I’m back up again and I come to the computer to find that Kloe had pooped on the floor near the door.  It was stinking up the room.  That, and she left a puddle of urine in the middle of the blanket on top of the air mattress I’ve been keeping in here (computer room).

I grabbed a plastic bag to pick up the poop, but it was kinda difficult because I’m already having trouble breathing, especially without coughing and choking.  Throw in a mild poop-stench in the mix and now I’m really having a blast.  Blegh.  Oh yeah, I turned on the window AC to pull in fresh air from outside and also began burning some incense to help get rid of the odor.

So I toss the poop in the trash outside and come back in to take care of the blanket.  I began to pull and lift it and notice that it’s dripping.  Lovely.  So I’m standing there holding this blanket and I push it away from me and hold it over the mattress and look down to make sure I’m not dripping on the floor…

I wasn’t dripping urine on the floor but I did notice an adult-sized black widow crawling away, which was apparently using the blanket for shelter and I had rudely disturbed it.  Shame on me.  WHAT THE HECK WAS A BLACK WIDOW DOING THERE?!  If you know me, you know I’m not afraid of spiders, but I do maintain a fairly healthy respect for creatures that can harm humans.  As you can imagine, it was at least a tad bit disturbing to find a black widow randomly hanging out in a place where I take naps.

What’s more disturbing is how I think it got there.  I don’t think it came into the room on its own and made a home by the air mattress.  See, the other day I noticed that the blanket I had on there had cat pee on it.  I took that to the laundry and grabbed a new blanket out of our bedroom closet.  The only reasonable theory I can come up with is that the black widow was on the blanket in the dark closet… on the blanket that I grabbed and hugged against my body as I carried it through the house… on the blanket that I flung out over the mattress… on the blanket that I napped on several times.  Not cool.

Well, this now catches me up to the present time, so I’ll publish this post.

Leave a Reply

