…and then some

Moving on


Well, I’m certainly feeling better today than I have been the past few days.   There is still a lot of pressure on my abdomen, and I often can’t recognize hunger properly, which means I go too long without eating.  This leads to feeling sick to my stomach, which I then cannot differentiate between being hungry or just being sick.

I woke up several times throughout the night, shifting, adjusting… trying to get back to sleep.  I finally got up around 4am and couldn’t get back to sleep for a while.  Finally, sometime after 5am I fell asleep again, and actually stayed asleep until around 8am when I heard Lisa getting ready for work.  Shortly after she left I decided I was up for the day.

 

Dodger still likes to destroy my things.  I really wish I could get him to stop.  It’s one thing if I am neglectful and leave things lying around on the ground.  However he jumps up onto things to get to stuff.  The other day I grabbed a bottle of water, and I set it on the BBQ for a second while I took care of something outside.  When I came back in I thought “oops, I left my water outside.”  I went to get it and it wasn’t there.  In the very short time I had been inside, he jumped up and grabbed my water bottle off of the BBQ and destroyed it.  Yes, it was just an inexpensive bottle of water, but he does this to anything.

I want to somehow teach him not to jump up onto things.  I don’t mean he literally jumps up and stands on top of stuff.  You should know what I mean.  He at least has to jump up with his front paws on top of stuff in order to reach the things he’s getting into.  How do I teach him to not jump up on anything?  Come to think of it, there really isn’t any reason for him to ever jump up on anything like that… ever.   It’s the main reason I don’t park my truck in the back any more.  I know he’ll jump up on the side of it and scratch it all to hell.  Then I’ll be faced with the problem of where to dispose of a dead dog.

Thing is, he doesn’t do this stuff when I’m out there, so I can’t correct him when it happens.  He also seems to know that he’s doing wrong, because he acts extremely guilty and avoids me when I discover it (although part of it might be his ability to sense my attitude).

Sigh

Leave a Reply

