…and then some

Benadryl. Either it doesn’t work or it works too much.


So, lately I have been getting to bed way too late and sleeping until noon or later.  Unfortunately, this is a problem because in order for me to get enough work done for the day I should really start closer to 10am.  However, I’ve been having a hard time adjusting my sleep schedule because I’m just not getting sleepy early enough.

The night before last I decided to try some Benadryl.  I just took one.  I never really felt it “kick in”, but I went to bed and eventually fell asleep.  I woke up several times, had trouble getting back to sleep each of those times, and overall it didn’t really seem to help much.  I did get to bed a little earlier than usual, but I don’t think it had anything to do with the Benadryl.  I just chose to go to bed early.  The Benadryl was supposed to make the sleeping easier, which it didn’t seem to.  It wasn’t a very restful sleep.

Last night I decided to go with 2 Benadryl tablets.  This time I could feel it start to “kick in” shortly afterward, and I went to bed, where I fell asleep and had a very restful sleep.  I don’t think I woke up at all until morning when Lisa was getting ready for work, and even then I passed out again right away.  A couple hours later I woke up.  I looked at the clock and realized that I had enough sleep so I got up and walked around… but after a few minutes I realized I wasn’t ready.  I couldn’t function.  I had to get back in bed… so I did.  By the time I actually got up to stay I had slept for about 12 hours.  THAT’S TOO MUCH!  Not normally a big deal but in this case the whole purpose of making myself sleep earlier was so that I could get up at a decent time.  It doesn’t help for me to go to bed 2 hours earlier if I’m going to just sleep 4 hours more!   …or whatever.  That was just an example.

Anyway… that’s that.   I don’t think I can get in the number of hours of work today that I should have been able to.   Yeah I know I’m typing a blog when I should be working, but this really doesn’t take long.

Speaking of typing blogs, I need to try to get into the habit of posting blogs when I have stories to share rather than posting them as Facebook news posts.

Leave a Reply

