…and then some

Diet Pepsi is a Real Blast


I was sleeping.  I heard a noise.  It was one of those noises you can tell came from the real world and not the dream world.  It came from somewhere in the house, and it was loud enough to wake me up.

Before I continue I should let you know that I already have troubles with apprehensions of loud noises occurring at night.  I suppose being a homeowner with no children and an incredibly docile cat that usually sleeps with us at night gives me the notion that any sound coming from somewhere else inside the house can’t be a good thing.

Anyway, I definitely heard something, and the cat was indeed with us so it wasn’t her.  I slipped out of bed and peeked out of the bedroom door.  I didn’t see anything out of the ordinary, nor did I hear any more sounds.  I grabbed the flashlight and slowly began walking around the house.  When I got to the kitchen I smelled something suspicious… something that didn’t belong… but I didn’t see anything of any consequence.  I went through the hall to the computer room and then to the living room and found nothing of concern.  I returned to the kitchen, again smelling the strange scent.  Then I saw it.  The freezer door was partially open.

When the light from my flashlight hit the freezer I immediately knew what had happened.  I saw a few Diet Pepsi cans haphazardly lodged between the freezer door and the freezer itself.  You see, I had friends over a while earlier and before they arrived I placed a few cans of soda in the freezer door to chill them quickly, foolishly telling myself “Eh, I won’t forget”.  Well, I forgot.

After turning on the kitchen light and getting a closer look without opening the freezer door more, I could see most of the damage.  At least one of the cans had split in half  and literally exploded all over the inside of the freezer.  This apparently happened with enough force to knock the door storage railing off of its ‘hook’ (you can see this railing in the photo, but I put it back together before taking the picture) and force the entire freezer door open enough for the cans to fall just enough to prevent the door from closing but not fall out onto the floor.

I’ve never actually experienced the effects of a can of soda literally exploding in a freezer.  In fact, I often thought of it as no more than an urban legend.  Guess I have my proof now.  Even still, I never would have expected it to burst with such force.

 

IMG_20140521_103223_598

 

IMG_20140521_094714_631

Leave a Reply

